The Scourge by Jennifer A. Nielsen

Standard

the-scourgeThe Scourge by Jennifer A. Nielsen
Scholastic, 2016.

I have really enjoyed The Mark of the Thief series, and quite liked, though not as much as many did, the historical fiction A Night Divided. But my favorite JAN by far is The False Prince, and I’m excited to say that The Scourge is almost as good in some ways and even better in that it’s a one-off!!!

Like The False Prince, the setting is an imaginary country in a sort of 16th/17th century. This time, the country is Keldan, with the population acrimoniously divided into town dwellers and the River People. The country is being ravaged by the Scourge, an incurable plague, which has so far only hit the towns. But when River People Ani and Weevil are picked up to be tested, it’s discovered that they are both infected and they are sent to Attic Island – a colony for Scourge sufferers that nobody ever leaves.

Ani is our narrator and is a typically feisty Nielsen protagonist – one who just can’t keep her mouth closed or her head down. Though not quite a female version of my beloved False Prince Sage/Jarod with his delicious snark and unreliability, it’s good to have a female action hero and one who can lead, as well as just get herself in and out of scrapes. Weevil (terrible name – sounds like a Disney sidekick) is the cooler headed of the two, and is also a love interest.

The plot rips along, and though I could see the big twist coming, it was a good one and well-executed. There is a balanced mix of tension and action, and the backdrop of the tension between the two Keldan cultures gives an interesting overlay of social injustice.

And did I say it all wraps up in one book? Hooray. The downside is that the support characters don’t really have room to develop, and it would be nice to have seen more of Della, the initially snooty townie sent to the colony with Ani.

This is JAN at her peak and I would happily press this into the hands of any middle school reader.

Thanks to Scholastic and Edelweiss for the digital review copy.

7 responses »

  1. I disliked The Runaway King so much that I’m now hesitant to try JAN, but The False Prince was so great! The fact that this is a standalone is a huge plus in my books (because she can’t screw up the second book?)(I guess that’s a little mean of me.) I will definitely try The Scourge.

  2. The two sequels to The False Prince were sooo disappointing, and I don’t think I even bothered to finish The Shadow Throne. I absolutely lurve that The Scourge is a one and done, and I wish my authors would take that route.

  3. Pingback: This Month in Mormon Literature, October 2016 (Part 1: books) | Dawning of a Brighter Day

  4. Pingback: Best of 2016 | bibliobrit

  5. Pingback: The Traitor’s Game by Jennifer A. Nielsen | bibliobrit

  6. Pingback: Words on Fire by Jennifer A. Nielsen | bibliobrit

Leave a comment